The Roman Catholic Bishop of Springfield, a corporation sole, is the civil corporate name for the Diocese of Springfield. The Bishop of Springfield is the head of the corporation. The Roman Catholic Diocese of Springfield, which was erected on June 14, 1870, operates under both civil law and canon law (the law of the Church). It is comprised of 80 parishes and 8 missions with more than 177,269 Catholics. There are 184 priests throughout the four western counties of Massachusetts (Berkshire, Franklin, Hampden and Hampshire).
The diocese educates over 3,000 students in 12 elementary schools, 2 high schools. There is also 1 Catholic college in the Diocese of Springfield.
The diocese supports our laity and public with extensive services, such as providing homes for the aged, a hospital, and a health care center.
On August 12, 2014 Bishop Mitchell T. Rozanski was installed as the 9th Bishop of Springfield. Retired Bishop Timothy A. McDonnell (8th Bishop of Springfield) continues to reside in the Diocese and takes part in the life of the Catholic community here.
There are several religious houses in our diocese, including the cloistered orders of the Visitation and Dominican nuns and numerous motherhouses including Sisters of St. Joseph, Sisters of Providence, Franciscan Missionary Sisters of Assisi and Daughters of the Heart of Mary. Other orders are present in the diocese. Among the religious men represented in the diocese, we have the Marian Fathers & Brothers, Franciscans, LaSalettes, Passionists and Stigmatines.
Chancery Phone: (413) 732-3175
65 Elliott Street
P.O. Box 1730
Springfield,. MA 01102